one step at a time.

Despite my best efforts to maintain paleo house hold- in that I mean purchasing, preparing and eating mostly paleo food- it doesn’t always happen. It’s no secret that while I jumped on the Paleo bandwagon almost a year ago, E has not. But that’s okay. Were taking baby steps. The first being, converting to a gluten free household.

E works very, very long hours and so it is so important for him to have a healthy balanced lunch, with lots of food. Thus, making everything Paleo is often somewhat challenging. Especially since E loves crackers and hummus, sandwiches and beans! None of which can easily be substituted to fit the paleo lifestyle. And so, I figured removing gluten (which helped with my digestion problems immensely) is something that we can easily do- and so we’ve done it.

However, similar to Paleo, Gluten Free is often labelled as expensive. And while both certainly can be, I don’t find much of a difference in our grocery bill. It’s when you get into all the packaged and processed foods like gluten free bread, granola bars and crackers. Those items are definitely expensive. And sometimes, they’re just not tasty either.

One of my favourite ways to keep on track, and insure that I can easily whip up gluten free goods for E, is to always have a big batch of Gluten Free AP Flour Blend at home in the cupboard. While I’ve tried a variety- most notable is Bob’s Red Mill blend, I couldn’t justify the expensive, nor did I really like the taste. And so, I embarked on my own journey. And with the help of Gluten Free Girl, my homemade go to gluten free flour blend was born! It’s a mix of 70% whole grains and 30% starches.

My Go-To Recipe

  • 250g almond flour
  • 250g brown rice flour
  • 200g certified oat flour, made with certified gluten free oats
  • 150g potato starch (or cornstarch)
  • 150g white rice flour

Now you might be thinking- wow! that’s a lot of strange flours. And yes, if you were to individually purchase all of these flours- even from a bulk store- it would be pricey. That said however, I have a Vitamix (the most fantastic gift I’ve ever gotten- Thanks Mom & Nanny) and so I grind all my own flours which reduces the cost significantly.

I just grind all my flours, weigh them on my scale, dump them all into a big bowl, stir them up with a wooden spoon and transfer them into a giant container that sit in my baking cupboard.

The great thing about this flour is that while it’s not paleo, as long as your bake by weight (which I’ve been doing more and more) you can substitute this blend for recipes calling for regular AP or WW flour. Yep, it’s that easy.

2 thoughts on “one step at a time.

  1. Pingback: what a glorious morning! «

  2. Pingback: cheesy macaroni with a twist «

Leave a Comment

