getting my fix, the chocolate way.

With parties and celebrations comes the temptation of chips and baked goods. And so, after celebrating the up and coming marriage of a couple of friends till the wee hours of the morning, Sunday left me longing for a treat! Thank goodness Juli over at PaleoOMG came to my rescue. I’ve adapted her Fudgy Brownie recipe to suit what I had in stock.. and were they ever tasty and healthy to boot!

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cup dates (I used honey dates); soaked for 30 minutes in 1/2 cup of hot water.
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 6 T coconut flour
  • 3 eggs
  • 92 g 72% dark chocolate (i prefer dark chocolate & had a large bar in the cupboard) OR 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/4 t. baking soda
  • 1/4 t. baking powder
  • smidge of sea salt

Instructions

  1. Drain the soaked dates.
  2. Preheat oven to 350F.
  3. Blend dates in a food processor or blender (I used my Vitamix) until they break down & began to form a paste.
  4. Next, add the melted coconut oil; blend again.
  5. Then, add the melted chocolate and the eggs; blend again until smooth.
  6. Fill 12 muffin liners with the batter. (I used silicone baking cups & would highly recommend purchasing a set. They are just so versatile).
  7. Bake for 20 minutes
  8. Enjoy… I mean how could you not?!

{Note: These taste even more amazing when eating out of the freezer! So good!}

Leave a Comment

