for the love of meatloaf

Earlier this week I conquered a fear of mine. One that I’ve been dealing with for quite some time. My fear of MEATLOAF!

Yah, I said it. I’ve never eaten meatloaf, never made meatloaf, and never in a million years did I ever think I would want to! But after seeing this recipe over at Health-Bent, I just had to give it a try.

Was I skeptical. You bet your butt I was. Did I have a backup meal set aside. You bet your butt I did. Did I think I’d like it. Hell no! However, I’m pleased to announce that I was wrong. Oh so wrong. This meatloaf had everything going for it. It was juicy, flavourful and had me up for seconds.

Ingredients

Meatloaf:

  • 1/2 lb lean ground pork
  • 1 lb lean ground beef
  • 1/2 cup almond flour
  • 1 eggs (or 2 egg whites)
  • 1/2 cup homemade tomato sauce
  • 5 slices of bacon
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Tomato Sauce:

  • 1 large can of diced tomatoes (I used Italian Spiced)
  • 1 whole red pepper, roasted
  • 1/3 – 1/2 onion, minced
  • 4 t. garlic, minced

Directions

  1. In a food processor or blender (I used my Vitamix) blend together ingredients for tomato sauce.
  2. Preheat your oven to 350F.
  3. In a large bowl, mix together the ground beef and pork, egg, almond flour, tomato sauce and salt & pepper.
  4. Once thoroughly combined, pour the mixture into an oiled loaf pan.
  5. Top with five slices of bacon
  6. Bake for 55 minutes. Then turn the oven to broil, and cook for an additional 10 minutes.
  7. While the meatloaf is baking, simmer the tomato sauce over medium heat.
  8. Once the meatloaf is done cooking, drain the excess liquid from the pan and slice in the opposite direciton of the bacon.
  9. Top with additional tomato sauce and eat up!

{Also, I had the awesome opportunity to try out a new cake recipe I came up with that’s sugar-free, dairy-free & paleo. Yah, I didn’t know it was possible either, haha! It was delicious, and I will be posting soon.. so keep on the look out!}

4 thoughts on “for the love of meatloaf

  1. Pingback: gourmet pizza in only 3 ingredients! «

  2. Pingback: what’s in store. «

Leave a Comment

