Eat paleo, and have your cake too!

Come on, all right. We’re gonna celebrate. Had to include Daft Punk in this post. Who doesn’t love the celebrate song. In fact I had the distinct pleasure of jammin’ to it while creating my masterpiece. Something truly worth celebrating. E & I had the pleasure of going over to our friends Charles and Kat’s new place to celebrate her birthday on last weekend. They got married in August and just moved into their first place. It’s tres cute. I love getting together with friends, and even more so love sharing food. Opps, did I say that out loud? So, of course, I volunteered to bring a dessert. Duh! And with it being Kat’s birthday, what better choice than a birthday cake. The choice, however, was not as simple as it would appear. When you throw a paleo’r and lactose intolerant person together, a birthday cake appears rather daunting.

Never fear I said. Mission excepted! I googled and read, and googled and read and finally came up with an idea. With the expense of the ingredients I decided to nix the trial run and just wing it. And wing it did! It was soo friggin’ good! And yeah, I know. Oreos are NOT paleo. They are however dairy free and one of Kat’s favorites. So there. All the justification I need.

{The Fudgilicious Cake}

Ingredients

{Note: I split the recipe in half, and made two batches. I made a layered cake and wanted to ensure I had equal amounts in each pan. I’m sometimes weary of doubling up a recipe, so I kept it simple. Keep it simple, stupid.}

  • 3 cup pitted dates; soaked for 30 minutes in 1 cup of hot water.
  • 2/3 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 12 T coconut flour
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 cup Enjoy Life Chocolate Chunks (paleo friendly; dairy, soy & peanut free)
  • 1/2 t. baking soda
  • 1/2 t. baking powder
  • smidge of sea salt

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350F.
  2. Thoroughly grease 2, 8.5″ round cake pans. (I used the simple disposable aluminum ones.)
  3. Drain the soaking dates.
  4. Mix dates until they break down & began to form a paste.
  5. Next, add the melted coconut oil; blend again.
  6. Add the melted chocolate, eggs. Mix until combined.
  7. Add in coconut flour. Mix until combined.
  8. Fill each cake pan 3/4 full, as the cakes will rise slightly.
  9. Bake for 20-30 minutes, until toothpick comes out clean.

  10. Remove from cake pans and let cool on a wire rack.
  11. Cover and refrigerate overnight.
  12. When ready to ice and decorate, remove from the fridge.
  13. Ice the top of one cake, and stack the two together.
  14. Decorate it up baby. I used Oreo’s and strawberries. Your cake, your choice.

{Homemade, Paleoish Icing}

Ingredients

  • 1 3/4 cup confectioners sugar
  • 6 T coconut oil, melted
  • 2 t. ACV
  • 1 t. vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Mix together, the coconut oil and confectioners sugar.
  2. Once combined, add ACV and vanilla. Mix until combined.
  3. Store in an airtight container until needed.

This cake was bomb digg. The poor birthday girl was left with only a sliver to enjoy the next day. Sad I know. What isn’t sad though is the awesomeness of this cake. I had even the pickiest eater up for seconds. BOO-YAH!

One thought on “Eat paleo, and have your cake too!

  1. Pingback: another year older «

Leave a Comment

