“Tex Mex” Sweet Potato Pie

Easy, peasy, beautiful sweet potato pie.

Everyone has those staples. The things that without a doubt you’ll find in the fridge and the cupboards. The things that you don’t need to write on your list, but you do anyways. I know I sure do. I could probably do our shopping trip blind folded. I tour the store the exact same way every time. What a bore I am right? What can I say, I like routine. Anywho, keeping up with the “trying new things” goal has been challenging for me. Coming up with meals that are different, but also don’t require me to pop out to the store, or buy a million and one things that we might never use again is difficult. I hate that. It drive me nuts when you buy something for a specific recipe, but only need half of it. Argg.

Moving on. Happy now. So, knowing what we had in stock, or rather what we always have in stock I went to brainstorming. E had mentioned something a while ago about potato pie or something along those lines. Yes. I said. Potato pie. But WTF is a potato pie? It’s not something that I’ve ever eaten, nor did it sound particularly appetizing to me… but “ah well” I said.. Let’s give it a shot. I think what you have here would be considered a sweet potato pie? No? Well I’m calling it that anyways!

I quite enjoyed it. Both the taste, and the fact that its one of those dishes that can be cut up and frozen into individual portions and taken for lunch. Those are my favourite meals. It’s easy for E, and easy for me! 🙂 Check out that rhyme.

Ingredients

  • 1 lb lean ground beef (pork, chicken or turkey would probably work just as well)
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 T garlic, minced
  • 1 T chilli powder
  • 1/4 -1/2 t. red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 t. dried oregano
  • 1/4 t. sea salt
  • 1 can tomatoes, any style you prefer
  • 1 green bell pepper, sliced
  • 3-4 sweet potatoes, medium sized
  • 1 T coconut oil, or EVOO
  • 1 T almond flour (or flour of your choice)
  • 2 green onions (optional)
  • 1/2 to 1 cup shredded cheddar (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Peel, and cut sweet potatoes into 1/8″ circles.
  3. Cook beef, onions and garlic over medium heat. Cook until beef is no longer pink.
  4. Drain off the fat. Stir in chili powder, red pepper flakes, oregano and sea salt. Cook for 1 minute.
  5. Stir in tomatoes and cook for an additional 20 minutes, or until thickened. Stir in green peppers.
  6. In a 11×17 baking dish toss together sweet potatoes, almond flour and coconut oil.
  7. Spoon meat mixture over top of the potatoes and cover with a lid or tinfoil.
  8. Bake for 45 minutes; or until sweet potatoes are tender.
  9. During the last five minutes of baking time sprinkle with green onions (and cheddar if using).
  10. Remove from oven, cut and serve! Enjoy!
One thought on ““Tex Mex” Sweet Potato Pie

Leave a Comment

