a paleo certified cheesecake

It’s no secret that E & I are cheesecake lovers. And so, what better night to create that divine desert. But no, nothing I make is traditional in any way. I think that’s why I have so much fun in the kitchen. Although I eat dairy here & there, I didn’t want to make a desert laden with sugar, cream cheese and gluten. Instead, I wanted a much lighter, but just as tasty Paleo certified cheesecake.

I’ve got the sharing bug and so I couldn’t wait to share this recipe with all my awesome readers! I demand that you immediately drop what you’re doing and go and make this beauty. Oh my gawd. It was good!

E posed for the camera. I promised him I wouldn’t put it on the blog. But I lied. Oh well.

Ingredients

For the crust:

  • 1/2 cup almonds
  • 1/2 cup honey dates (I use this brand)
  • 1/4 t. sea salt

For the filling:

  • 1 1/2 cups cashews, soaked for an hour
  • 2 T lemon juice
  • 1 t. vanilla
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil, melted
  • a little less than 1/3 cup honey (I used creamed honey)
  • 1 T cocoa powder

Directions

For the Crust:

  1. Place almonds, dates and seas salt in a blender or food processor and blend until desired consistency is reached. I left my crust pretty chunky, as to complement the smooth texture of the cheesecake. If you are looking for a smoother crust you may want to use almond meal rather than whole almonds. I would suggest around 1/4 cup.
  2. Press your crust into a 7″ pie plate (wrapped with saran wrap), until it is evenly distributed.
  3. Wash your blender or food processor thoroughly as you will use it to make your filling.

For the filling:

  1. Melt coconut oil, and honey together. Whisk to combine.
  2. In your blender or food processor, blend all “filling” ingredients together except cocoa powder. Blend on high until very smooth. This may take a few minutes.
  3. Once blended smooth, pour about two thirds of the filling onto the crust and smooth with a spatula.
  4. Add the cocoa powder to the rest of the filling and blend until combined.
  5. Pour the remaining filling onto the first layer of the cake. Smooth with a spatula.
  6. Place in the freezer until solid.
  7. To serve, remove from the freezer 30 minutes prior to eating.
  8. Store left overs in the freezer.

What I loved about this cake is that A) it’s paleo, but also B) it’s made with regular ‘ol ingredients. There’s no weird flours or odd sweeteners. It’s fit for those allergy laden people, us paleo’rs or just your average Joe Smo!

Work it.

4 thoughts on “a paleo certified cheesecake

  1. Looks so good!! I just made a paleo zesty lime cheese (but no cheese) cake and it not only worked (shocked horror) but it tasted amazing!! Recipe is on my facebook if you want to check it out 🙂

  2. Do you have a calorie count for the “cheesecake?” just trying to get an idea of what the nutrition facts would be for a serving. Thanks!

    • Hi Sarah, thanks for stopping by the blog!

      As a Paleo eater, I don’t pay particular attention to the nutrition facts of what I eat, so unfortunately I can only provide with with an estimation. I got around 10 slices out the cake (its so rich, you only need a small piece) and I would estimate there to be around 300 calories per slice~ which in comparison to traditional cheesecake is quite good!

      That said, when I did used to keep track of nutritional information I used this site: http://www.fitwatch.com/database/analyzer.php. All you have to do is enter the number of servings and the ingredients used and it breaks it down for you!

      Hope this helps! Let me know if you try it out!

Leave a Comment

