gingman style

For most people, the onset of Autumn brings with it pots of chilli, soup and stew laden with root vegetables… my personal mantra however, is screw the soups and stews and bring on the gingerbread. Yep. Pretty accurate.  In any shape or form. I just cannot get enough of this stuff. I dream of it. I get excited about the thought of decorating a gingerbread house. I stock up on boxes and boxes of Celestial Seasons Ginger Spice tea. And I cry when I open and finish the last box of this seasonal drink. Gawd. Have you figured out yet how much I adore Gingerbread. And coming into my first Autumn as a Paleo, won’t change that in the least. I just won’t let it.

Whose with me?

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 C almond flour (I make my own by grinding whole natural almonds in my Vitamix)
  • 1/4 t. cinnamon
  • 1/2 t. ginger
  • 1/4 t. allspice
  • 1/4 t. sea salt
  • 1/2 T. water
  • 2 T. coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup all natural molasses

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Meanwhile, in a small bowl, combine all dry ingredients.
  3. Meanwhile, heat molasses over medium/high heat, bring molasses to a boil.
  4. Once molasses has boiled, stir in coconut oil and water. Mix until combined, and remove from heat.
  5. Add dry to wet ingredients and mix with a wooden spoon until combined.
  6. Roll dough between two sheets of parchment paper, and roll until about 1/8 inch thick.
  7. Place in the fridge to cool for 5-10 minutes.
  8. Once cooled, use cookie cutters to cut your dough into desired shapes.
  9. Place on a parchment covered cookie sheet, and bake for 8 minutes.
  10. Enjoy! So good. You won’t miss the real wheat laden thing!

Note: The cookies will expand while baking, so make sure to space cookies an inch or so apart!

 

 

 

Leave a Comment

